Skip to main navigation.

About Us

ECE is a member-owned electric cooperative. Formed in 1936, we currently provide electric service to over 62,000 homes, farms, and businesses in east central Minnesota and northwestern Wisconsin.

Our mission:
"East Central Energy improves the quality of life by safely providing reliable energy and related services, while embracing our cooperative principles."

Seven Cooperative Principles:
1. Voluntary and Open Membership
2. Democratic Member Control
3. Member's Economic Participation
4. Autonomy and Independence
5. Education, Training, and Information
6. Cooperation Among Cooperatives
7. Concern for Community

Quick Facts

  • Employees: 161
  • Miles of line: 8,400
  • Number of counties served: 14
  • Average members per mile: 7.33

ECE's History

What is a cooperative?

Touchstone Energy Cooperative
As a Touchstone Energy Cooperative, we are a part of a national alliance of over 700 cooperatives in 46 states. We are one of 28 electric distribution cooperatives who own and depend on Great River Energy (GRE), based in Maple Grove, MN, for power. GRE generates electricity and transmits it from power plants to ECE substations for distribution through our local lines to you.

About Great River Energy
We are a member-owner of GRE, along with 27 other Minnesota electric co-ops. We purchase reliable wholesale electricity from them and distribute it to the consumer-members we serve.

Learn more about GRE
GRE generation resources

Internet and cable services
ECE also is part owner of Milaca Local Link, which provides high-speed Internet, telecommunications and cable television service in the Milaca, MN area.

ECE offers satellite speed Internet service through Northland Connect Broadband.

Our main location
ECE's main office and operations center are located in Braham, MN, with service and/or operations centers in Milaca, MN, Finlayson, MN, Superior, WI, and Wahkon, MN.

ECE service territory and director districts
ECE service area extends from northwestern Wisconsin on the east to the Mississippi River on the west. It includes parts of Douglas, Washburn and Burnett counties in Wisconsin and parts of Aitkin, Carlton, Morrison, Mille Lacs, Sherburne, Kanabec, Isanti, Pine, Chisago, Washington, and Benton counties in Minnesota.

Articles of Incorporation and Bylaws
Bylaws are the rules governing how East Central Energy operates. The Articles of Incorporation and Bylaws are available in their entirety by opening the link below.

ECE Articles of Incorporation and Bylaws

Financial information
Visit for IRS financial information about East Central Energy.

Better Business Bureau accredited business
Check us out with the Better Business Bureau at



Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo
Show it and save with the Co-op Connections Card. We accept Visa, MasterCard, American Express Together We Save